el

Faculty


Photo: Sonia Arora

Sonia Arora
Teaching Instructor
(848) 932-6337
sonia.arora@rutgers.edu
Medicinal plants, ethnopharmacology, structural bioinformatics, computer aided drug design, nutraceuticals, natural products & human health

Photo: Albert Ayeni

Albert Ayeni
Assistant Teaching Professor
(848) 932-6289
ayeni@sebs.rutgers.edu
Weed management, sustainable crop production, and international collaborations in Agriculture and Rural Development

Photo: Jerry Baron

Jerry Baron
Executive Director, IR-4 Project
(732) 932-9575 ext. 4605
jbaron@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant management/plant pathology: horticultural crop pest management

Photo: Faith Belanger

Faith Belanger
Associate Professor
(848) 932-6389
belanger@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant pathology/molecular biology/biotechnology: turfgrass molecular biology; endophyte interaction, fungal endophyte/grass interaction

Photo: Joan W. Bennett

Joan W. Bennett
Distinguished Professor
(848) 932-6223
bennett@sebs.rutgers.edu
Fungal Genetics, Mycology, Mycotoxins, Volatile Organic Compounds

Photo: Stacy Bonos

Stacy Bonos
Professor
(848) 932-6367
bonos@rutgers.edu
Plant breeding and genetic improvement; perennial grasses for turf and biofuel; inheritance of disease resistance and stress tolerance; molecular and traditional breeding approaches

Photo: Raul I. Cabrera

Raul I. Cabrera
Associate Extension Specialist in Nursery Production & Management
(856) 455-3100 ext. 4162
ri.cabrera@rutgers.edu
Sustainable Agricultural Systems

Photo: Chee-Kok Chin

Chee-Kok Chin
Professor
(848) 932-6346
chin_c@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant diversity/natural products/plant breeding and genetic improvement: asparagus improvement; bioactive fatty acids

Photo: Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke
Extension Specialist in Turfgrass Pathology
(848) 932-6295
clarke@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant pathology: turfgrass pathology, ectotrophic root infecting fungi

Photo: Tiemi N. Curry

Tiemi N. Curry
Research Associate
(848) 932-6374
curry@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant tissue culture/biotechnology: plant cell, tissue and organ culture – research development and production; plant micropropagation, for selected, highly valued Rutgers hybrid breeding programs

Photo: Rong Di

Rong Di
Associate Research Professor
(848) 932-6350
di@sebs.rutgers.edu
Molecular biology/biotechnology: molecular biology, biotechnology, nutraceuticals, biofuel

Photo: Juan Dong

Juan Dong
Associate Professor
(848) 445-7034
dong@waksman.rutgers.edu
Plant cell and development/molecular genetics: cell polarity, asymmetric cell division, stomatal development and patterning

Photo: Edward Durner

Edward Durner
Associate Professor
(848) 932-6366
durner@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant management: applied physiology; statistics; CSA management, student farms, organic food production, Physalis production, statistical analysis

Photo: Matthew Elmore

Matthew Elmore
Asst. Extension Specialist
(848) 932-6324
matthew.elmore@rutgers.edu
Weed science in turfgrass, landscapes, pastures and forages

Photo: Joel Flagler

Joel Flagler
County Agent
(201) 336-6781
flagler@sebs.rutgers.edu
People-plant relationships: horticultural therapy, ornamental horticulture

Photo: Chaim Frenkel

Chaim Frenkel
Professor
(848) 932-6236
frenkel@sebs.rutgers.edu
Post harvest biology/ Cold stress/ Natural products/ Vanilla

Photo: Andrea Gallavotti

Andrea Gallavotti
Assistant Professor
848-445-6421
andrea.gallavotti@rutgers.edu
Plant development/molecular biology: maize genetics and functional genomics; plant architecture; meristem development

Photo: Thomas J. Gianfagna

Thomas J. Gianfagna
Professor
(848) 932-6369
gianfagna@sebs.rutgers.edu
Postharvest pathology and physiology of fruit and cut flowers; Plant natural products and human health, endophytic fungi, mechanisms of disease resistance

Photo: Joseph Goffreda

Joseph Goffreda
Associate Professor
(609) 758-7311 ext. 13
goffreda@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant breeding and genetic improvement: peach, nectarine, apple, and apricot breeding

Photo: Ann B. Gould

Ann B. Gould
Associate Extension Specialist
(848) 932-6398
gould@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant pathology: woody and herbaceous ornamental crop pathology

Photo: Joseph Heckman

Joseph Heckman
Extension Specialist in Soil Fertility
(848) 932-6333
heckman@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant management: Soil, soil fertility, soil testing, mineral nutrition, plant health, organic farming, organic farming history, compost, traditional food systems

Photo: Bradley I. Hillman

Bradley I. Hillman
Professor
(848) 932-3777
bradley.hillman@rutgers.edu
Plant pathology/molecular biology/biotechnology: plant and fungal virology; fungal molecular biology; biocontrol

Photo: Joshua A. Honig

Joshua A. Honig
Assistant Research Professor
(848) 932-6281
josh.honig@rutgers.edu
Plant molecular biology/plant breeding: DNA genotyping, DNA fingerprinting, DNA sequencing, genetic linkage mapping, and marker assisted selection (MAS), turfgrass breeding

Photo: Bingru Huang

Bingru Huang
Distinguished Professor
(732) 932-9711 ext. 302
huang@sebs.rutgers.edu
Turfgrass stress physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology

Photo: H. Rodolfo Juliani

H. Rodolfo Juliani
Assistant Research Professor
(848) 932-6240
hjuliani@rci.rutgers.edu
Plant diversity for nutrition and health. International development and sustainable production of plant-based products (herbs, spices, medicinal, aromatic plants, non-timber forest products, ethnic plant products). Quality (safety and effectiveness), chemistry and biological activity of plant products. Horticulture and plant biotechnology. Undergraduate and graduate research.

Photo: Donald Kobayashi

Donald Kobayashi
Professor, Department Chair
(848) 932-6393
kobayashi@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant bacteriology: biological control; bacterial genomics; bacterial/fungal interactions; biotechnology

Photo: Norman Lalancette

Norman Lalancette
Associate Extension Specialist in Tree Fruit Pathology
(732) 932-4000 ext. 4124
lalancette@njaes.rutgers.edu
Plant pathology: tree fruit pathology; epidemiology and plant disease control

Photo: Eric Lam

Eric Lam
Distinguished Professor
(848) 932-6351
lam@sebs.rutgers.edu
Epigenetics; programmed cell death; stress tolerance; renewable biomass; duckweeds; RNA therapeutics

Photo: Michael Lawton

Michael Lawton
Associate Professor
(848) 932-6166
lawton@sebs.rutgers.edu
Disease Resistance, Fungal and Bacterial Pathogens, Fusarium Head Blight, Toxins, Programmed Cell Death, Physcomitrella patens, Functional Genomics.

Photo: Thomas Leustek

Thomas Leustek
Professor, Associate Dean of Academic Administration & Assessment
(848) 932-6296
leustek@sebs.rutgers.edu
Metabolic control and engineering of plant metabolism, sulfur assimilation, nutrition, sensing, amino acid biosynthesis and regulation

Photo: Xiao-Ping Li

Xiao-Ping Li
Associate Research Scientist
(848) 932-6355
xpli@rci.rutgers.edu
Mechanisms of cellular toxicity of ricin and Shiga toxins. Fragment based antidotes development against ricin and Shiga toxins

Photo: Desmond Lun

Desmond Lun
Associate Professor
(856) 225-6094
desmond.lun@rutgers.edu
Bioinformatics, systems biology, metabolic engineering
website

Photo: Pal Maliga

Pal Maliga
Professor
(848) 445-5329
maliga@waksman.rutgers.edu
Molecular biology/biotechnology/ plant breeding and genetic improvement: plastid molecular biology

Photo: John E. McLaughlin

John E. McLaughlin
Research Associate
(848) 932-6274
mclaughj@rci.rutgers.edu
Yeast genetics, plant pathology, trichothecene mycotoxins, ribosome inactivating proteins

Photo: Paul Meers

Paul Meers
Instructor, Undergraduate Program Director, Biotechnology
(848) 932-6230
paul.meers@rutgers.edu
Membrane dynamics and intercellular vesicle transport (including membrane fusion; protein-lipid interactions): drug delivery/transfection technologies, nanotechnology, biofilms, spectroscopic assays and imaging

Photo: William Meyer

William Meyer
Professor
(848) 932-6222
wmeyer@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant breeding and genetic improvement: turfgrass breeding

Photo: Thomas Molnar

Thomas Molnar
Associate Professor
(848) 932-6330
thomas.molnar@rutgers.edu
Plant breeding and genetic improvement; ornamental and edible tree crops with a current focus on large-bracted dogwoods and hazelnuts

Photo: Xenia Morin

Xenia Morin
Associate Teaching Professor
(848) 932-3502
xmorin@sebs.rutgers.edu
Food systems studies. Local through global food production and its ability to respond to climate change while maintaining health, the environment and economic sustainability.

Photo: James A. Murphy

James A. Murphy
Extension Specialist
848-932-6326
murphy@sebs.rutgers.edu
Turfgrass management, turf edaphology, adaptation of turfgrass species and cultivars to traffic stress

Photo: Thomas Orton

Thomas Orton
Extension Specialist
(856) 455-3100 ext. 4112
thomas.orton@rutgers.edu
Plant breeding and genetic improvement: vegetable crops; extension in value-added systems development

Photo: Peter Oudemans

Peter Oudemans
Professor
(609) 726-1590 ext. 4420
oudemans@rutgers.edu
Plant pathology: blueberry/cranberry, Colletrotrichum physalospora coleophoma, GIS, NEWA

Photo: Alexander Poulev

Alexander Poulev
Assistant Research Professor
(848) 932-6266
apoulev@rutgers.edu
Natural product chemistry/biotechnology/natural products: isolation and purification; chromatography; mass spectrometry; structural determination
website

Photo: Dana Price

Dana Price
Associate Research Professor
(848) 932-6219
d.price@rutgers.edu
Functional genomics of microbial eukaryotes, the protist Tree of Life, single-cell genomics, arthropod disease vector biology
website

Photo: Ilya Raskin

Ilya Raskin
Distinguished Professor
(848) 932-6267
raskin@sebs.rutgers.edu
Biotechnology/phytochemistry/natural products/dietary supplements/functional foods/plant diversity/pharmacognosy/international development/biodiversity
website

Photo: David M. Ribnicky

David M. Ribnicky
Assistant Research Professor
(848) 932-6365
ribnicky@sebs.rutgers.edu
Natural product chemistry: isolation and purification; phytopharmaceuticals

Photo: Mark Gregory Robson

Mark Gregory Robson
Professor
(848) 932-6276
mark.robson@rutgers.edu
Pesticide toxicology, human and ecological risk assessment

Photo: James E. Simon

James E. Simon
Distinguished Professor
(848) 932-6239
jimsimon@rutgers.edu
Plant diversity/natural products/plant breeding and genetic improvement: new crop development, plant domestication of high value crops, NonTimber Forest Species, sustainable development of indigenous resources

Photo: Lena Struwe

Lena Struwe
Professor
(848) 932-6343
lena.struwe@rutgers.edu
Global plant diversity and evolution, biogeography and spatial patterns, historic and contemporary ethnobotany and sustainable bioprospecting of natural products
website

Photo: Nilgun Tumer

Nilgun Tumer
Distinguished Professor
(848) 932-6359
tumer@sebs.rutgers.edu
Molecular biology/biotechnology/biochemistry: molecular biology; cellular translation; viral infection

Photo: Nicholi Vorsa

Nicholi Vorsa
Professor
(609) 726-1590 ext. 11
vorsa@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant breeding, genetic improvement, fruit quality, polyphenolics, blueberry and cranberry breeding, genetic mapping

Photo: Daniel L. Ward

Daniel L. Ward
Assistant Extension Specialist
(732) 932-4000 ext. 4118
dward@sebs.rutgers.edu
Pomology - cultural practices and crop management for fruit crops

Photo: James F. White Jr.

James F. White Jr.
Professor
(848) 932-6286
jwhite@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant pathology; symbiosis; endophytic microbes; nutritional endosymbiotic systems; associative nitrogen fixation

Photo: Qing-Li Wu

Qing-Li Wu
Associate Research Professor
(848) 932-6238
qlwu@sebs.rutgers.edu
Natural products chemistry and plant medicine

Photo: C. Andrew Wyenandt

C. Andrew Wyenandt
Extension Specialist in Vegetable Pathology
(732) 932-4000 ext. 4144
wyenandt@sebs.rutgers.edu
Phytophthora capsici and anthracnose fruit rot control in bell and other peppers, cucurbit powdery and downy mildew control, fungicide resistance management, fungicide resistance guidelines, basil downy mildew control

Photo: Ning Zhang

Ning Zhang
Associate Professor
(848) 932-6348
zhang@sebs.rutgers.edu
Fungal biodiversity, phylogenetics and genomics; microbiomes associated with turfgrass and bioenergy plants; and molecular diagnosis of plant pathogens.

Faculty Emeriti

Photo: Hugo K. Dooner

Hugo K. Dooner
Emeritus
Plant Breeding and Genetics section
Molecular biology/biotechnology: functional genomics; homologous meiotic recombination analysis in maize

Photo: Zane R. Helsel

Zane R. Helsel
Emeritus Extension Specialist in Agriculture Energy
Sustainable Agricultural Systems
helsel@sebs.rutgers.edu
Agriculture Energy, Field and Forage Crop Production

Photo: Melvin Henninger

Melvin Henninger
Emeritus
Plant management: plant management: potato and vegetable crop horticulture

Photo: Harry Janes

Harry W. Janes
Emeritus
janes@sebs.rutgers.edu
Sustainable Agricultural Systems
Plant management: controlled environmental agriculture; plant environmental interaction

Photo: Gojko Jelenkovic

Gojko Jelenkovic
Emeritus
Molecular biology/biotechnology: transgenic plants; gene isolation; gene characterization

Photo: Brad Majek

Brad Majek
Emeritus
Plant Plant Protection and Biotic and Abiotic Interactions section
Plant management: vegetable and fruit weed control

Photo: David R. Mears

David R. Mears
Emeritus
Plant management: controlled environmental agriculture; greenhouse systems

Photo: Elwin R. Orton

Elwin R. Orton
Emeritus
Woody ornamentals plant breeding, primarily those of Ilex (hollies) and Cornus (dogwoods)

Photo: John Sacalis

John Sacalis
Emeritus
Plant diversity/natural products: cut-flower postharvest physiology; turfgrass endophytes; natural products

Photo: Barbara Zilinskas

Barbara Zilinskas
Emeritus
(848) 932-6224
zilinskas@sebs.rutgers.edu
Plant Protection and Biotic and Abiotic Interactions
Molecular biology/biotechnology: molecular biology and physiology of the response of plants to environmental stress; oxidative stress and antioxidant protective mechanisms; genetic modification of turfgrass species