Skip Navigation
Menu

Faculty

Photo: Gary L. Altman

Gary L. Altman
Teaching Instructor

gla32@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6321

Horticultural Therapy, People-Plant Relationships, Rehabilitation Counseling, Vocational Rehabilitation, Vocational Evaluation and Return to Work Coordination, Green Industry Job Development/Job Placement

Photo: Sonia Arora

Sonia Arora
Teaching Instructor

sonia.arora@rutgers.edu
848-932-6337

Medicinal plants, ethnopharmacology, structural bioinformatics, computer aided drug design, nutraceuticals, natural products & human health

Photo: Faith Belanger

Faith Belanger
Associate Professor

belanger@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6389

Plant pathology/molecular biology/biotechnology: turfgrass molecular biology; endophyte interaction, fungal endophyte/grass interaction

Photo: Joan W. Bennett

Joan W. Bennett
Distinguished Professor

bennett@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6223

Fungal Genetics, Mycology, Mycotoxins, Volatile Organic Compounds

Photo: Thierry E. Besancon

Thierry E. Besancon
Associate Extension Specialist in Weed Science

thierry.besancon@rutgers.edu
609-726-1590 Ext. 4442

Plant Protection and Biotic and Abiotic Interactions

Photo: Stacy Bonos

Stacy Bonos
Professor

bonos@rutgers.edu
848-932-6367

Plant breeding and genetic improvement; perennial grasses for turf and biofuel; inheritance of disease resistance and stress tolerance; molecular and traditional breeding approaches

Photo: Raul I. Cabrera

Raul I. Cabrera
Associate Extension Specialist in Nursery Production & Management

cabrera@njaes.rutgers.edu
856-391-7632

Sustainable Agricultural Systems

Photo: Tiemi N. Curry

Tiemi N. Curry
Research Associate

curry@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6374

Plant tissue culture/biotechnology: plant cell, tissue and organ culture – research development and production; plant micropropagation, for selected, highly valued Rutgers hybrid breeding programs

Photo: Rong Di

Rong Di
Associate Research Professor

di@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6350

Molecular biology/biotechnology: molecular biology, biotechnology, nutraceuticals, biofuel

Photo: Juan Dong

Juan Dong
Professor

dong@waksman.rutgers.edu
848-445-7034

Plant cell and development/molecular genetics: cell polarity, asymmetric cell division, stomatal development and patterning

Photo: Edward Durner

Edward Durner
Associate Professor

durner@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6366

Plant management: applied physiology; statistics; CSA management, student farms, organic food production, Physalis production, statistical analysis

Photo: Matthew Elmore

Matthew Elmore
Assistant Extension Specialist

matthew.elmore@rutgers.edu
848-932-6324

Weed science in turfgrass, landscapes, pastures and forages

Photo: Joel Flagler

Joel Flagler
County Agent

flagler@sebs.rutgers.edu
201-336-6781

People-plant relationships: horticultural therapy, ornamental horticulture

Photo: Andrea Gallavotti

Andrea Gallavotti
Associate Professor

andrea.gallavotti@rutgers.edu
848-445-6421

Plant development/molecular biology: maize genetics and functional genomics; plant architecture; meristem development

Photo: Thomas J. Gianfagna

Thomas J. Gianfagna
Professor

gianfagna@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6369

Postharvest pathology and physiology of fruit and cut flowers; Plant natural products and human health, endophytic fungi, mechanisms of disease resistance

Photo: Joseph Goffreda

Joseph Goffreda
Associate Professor

goffreda@sebs.rutgers.edu
609-758-7311 ext. 13

Plant breeding and genetic improvement: peach, nectarine, apple, and apricot breeding

Photo: Ann B. Gould

Ann B. Gould
Associate Extension Specialist

gould@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6398

Plant pathology: woody and herbaceous ornamental crop pathology

Photo: Serpil Guran

Serpil Guran
Courtesy Professor

sg795@rutgers.edu
848-932-6398

Food-Energy-Water Nexus and Waste synergy by promoting integration of organic waste into development of closed-loop bio-economy

Photo: Joseph Heckman

Joseph Heckman
Extension Specialist in Soil Fertility

heckman@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6333

Plant management: Soil, soil fertility, soil testing, mineral nutrition, plant health, organic farming, organic farming history, compost, traditional food systems

Photo: Bradley I. Hillman

Bradley I. Hillman
Professor

bradley.hillman@rutgers.edu

Plant pathology/molecular biology/biotechnology: plant and fungal virology; fungal molecular biology; biocontrol

Photo: Joshua A. Honig

Joshua A. Honig
Assistant Research Professor

josh.honig@rutgers.edu
848-932-6281

Plant molecular biology/plant breeding: DNA genotyping, DNA fingerprinting, DNA sequencing, genetic linkage mapping, and marker assisted selection (MAS), turfgrass breeding

Photo: Bingru Huang

Bingru Huang
Distinguished Professor

huang@sebs.rutgers.edu
732-932-9711 ext. 302

Turfgrass stress physiology/biochemistry/molecular biology

Photo: H. Rodolfo Juliani

H. Rodolfo Juliani
Part-Time Lecturer

hjuliani@rutgers.edu
848-932-6240

Photo: Donald Kobayashi

Donald Kobayashi
Professor, Department Chair

kobayashi@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6393

Plant bacteriology: biological control; bacterial genomics; bacterial/fungal interactions; biotechnology

Photo: Norman Lalancette

Norman Lalancette
Associate Extension Specialist in Tree Fruit Pathology

lalancette@njaes.rutgers.edu
856-391-7624

Plant pathology: tree fruit pathology; epidemiology and plant disease control

Photo: Eric Lam

Eric Lam
Distinguished Professor

lam@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6351

Epigenetics; programmed cell death; stress tolerance; renewable biomass; duckweeds; RNA therapeutics

Photo: Michael Lawton

Michael Lawton
Associate Professor

lawton@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6166

Disease Resistance, Fungal and Bacterial Pathogens, Fusarium Head Blight, Toxins, Programmed Cell Death, Physcomitrella patens, Functional Genomics.

Photo: Thomas Leustek

Thomas Leustek
Professor, SEBS - Dean of Academic Programs

leustek@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6296

Metabolic control and engineering of plant metabolism, sulfur assimilation, nutrition, sensing, amino acid biosynthesis and regulation

Photo: Xiao-Ping Li

Xiao-Ping Li
Associate Research Scientist

xpli@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6355

Mechanisms of cellular toxicity of ricin and Shiga toxins. Fragment based antidotes development against ricin and Shiga toxins

Photo: Desmond Lun

Desmond Lun
Courtesy Professor

desmond.lun@rutgers.edu
856-225-6094

Bioinformatics, systems biology, metabolic engineering
website

Photo: Pal Maliga

Pal Maliga
Distinguished Professor

maliga@waksman.rutgers.edu
848-445-5329

Molecular biology/biotechnology/ plant breeding and genetic improvement: plastid molecular biology

Photo: John E. McLaughlin

John E. McLaughlin
Assistant Research Professor

mclaughj@rutgers.edu
848-932-6274

Yeast genetics, plant pathology, trichothecene mycotoxins, ribosome inactivating proteins

Photo: Paul Meers

Paul Meers
Assistant Teaching Professor, Undergraduate Program Director, Biotechnology

paul.meers@rutgers.edu
848-932-6230

Membrane dynamics and intercellular vesicle transport (including membrane fusion; protein-lipid interactions): drug delivery/transfection technologies, nanotechnology, biofilms, spectroscopic assays and imaging

Photo: Thomas Molnar

Thomas Molnar
Associate Professor

thomas.molnar@rutgers.edu
848) 932-6330

Plant breeding and genetic improvement; ornamental and edible tree crops with a current focus on large-bracted dogwoods and hazelnuts

Photo: Xenia Morin

Xenia Morin
Associate Teaching Professor, Undergraduate Program Director, Agriculture and Food Systems

xmorin@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-3502

Food systems studies. Local through global food production and its ability to respond to climate change while maintaining health, the environment and economic sustainability.

Photo: James A. Murphy

James A. Murphy
Extension Specialist

murphy@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6326

Turfgrass management, turf edaphology, adaptation of turfgrass species and cultivars to traffic stress

Photo: Peter Oudemans

Peter Oudemans
Professor

oudemans@rutgers.edu
609-726-1590 ext. 4420

Plant pathology: blueberry/cranberry, Colletrotrichum physalospora coleophoma, GIS, NEWA

Photo: Nrupali Patel

Nrupali Patel
Teaching Instructor, Director, Undergraduate Program in Plant Science

npatel@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6392

Plant Pathology, Molecular Biology, bacterial-fungal interactions, emerging plant bacterial diseases

Photo: Ilya Raskin

Ilya Raskin
Distinguished Professor

raskin@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6267

Biotechnology/phytochemistry/natural products/dietary supplements/functional foods/plant diversity/pharmacognosy/international development/biodiversity
website

Photo: Mark Gregory Robson

Mark Gregory Robson
Distinguished Professor

mark.robson@rutgers.edu
848-932-6276

Pesticide toxicology, human and ecological risk assessment

Photo: James E. Simon

James E. Simon
Distinguished Professor

jimsimon@rutgers.edu
848-932-6239

Plant diversity/natural products/plant breeding and genetic improvement: new crop development, plant domestication of high value crops, NonTimber Forest Species, sustainable development of indigenous resources

Photo: Lena Struwe

Lena Struwe
Professor

lena.struwe@rutgers.edu
848-932-6343

Global plant diversity and evolution, biogeography and spatial patterns, historic and contemporary ethnobotany and sustainable bioprospecting of natural products

Photo: Nilgun Tumer

Nilgun Tumer
Distinguished Professor

tumer@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6359

Molecular biology/biotechnology/biochemistry: molecular biology; cellular translation; viral infection

Photo: Nicholi Vorsa

Nicholi Vorsa
Professor

vorsa@sebs.rutgers.edu
609-726-1590 ext. 11

Plant breeding, genetic improvement, fruit quality, polyphenolics, blueberry and cranberry breeding, genetic mapping

Photo: Daniel L. Ward

Daniel L. Ward
Associate Extension Specialist in Pomology and Associate Research Professor

daniel.ward@rutgers.edu
856-391-7628

Pomology - cultural practices and crop management for fruit crops

Photo: James F. White Jr.

James F. White Jr.
Professor

jwhite@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6286

Plant pathology; symbiosis; endophytic microbes; nutritional endosymbiotic systems; associative nitrogen fixation

Photo: Qing-Li Wu

Qing-Li Wu
Associate Research Professor

qlwu@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6238

Natural products chemistry and plant medicine

Photo: C. Andrew Wyenandt

C. Andrew Wyenandt
Extension Specialist in Vegetable Pathology

wyenandt@njaes.rutgers.edu
856-391-7644

Phytophthora capsici and anthracnose fruit rot control in bell and other peppers, cucurbit powdery and downy mildew control, fungicide resistance management, fungicide resistance guidelines, basil downy mildew control

Photo: Mark Zander

Mark Zander
Assistant Professor

mzander@waksman.rutgers.edu
848-445-4684

Plant (epi)genomics, plant immunity, plant hormone signaling, transcriptional regulation, plant stress responses

Photo: Ning Zhang

Ning Zhang
Professor

zhang@sebs.rutgers.edu
848-932-6348

Fungal biodiversity, phylogenetics and genomics; microbiomes associated with turfgrass and bioenergy plants; and molecular diagnosis of plant pathogens.


Faculty Emeriti

Photo: Jerry Baron

Jerry Baron
Emeritus

jbaron@rutgers.edu

IR-4 Project
Plant management/plant pathology: horticultural crop pest management

Photo: Chee-Kok Chin

Chee-Kok Chin
Emeritus

Plant diversity/natural products/plant breeding and genetic improvement: asparagus improvement; bioactive fatty acids

Photo: Bruce Clarke

Bruce Clarke
Emeritus

bruce.clarke@rutgers.edu

Plant pathology: turfgrass pathology, ectotrophic root infecting fungi

Photo: Hugo K. Dooner

Hugo K. Dooner
Emeritus

Plant Breeding and Genetics section
Molecular biology/biotechnology: functional genomics; homologous meiotic recombination analysis in maize

Photo: Zane R. Helsel

Zane R. Helsel
Emeritus Extension Specialist in Agriculture Energy

helsel@rutgers.edu

Sustainable Agricultural Systems
Agriculture Energy, Field and Forage Crop Production

Photo: Melvin Henninger

Melvin Henninger
Emeritus

Plant management: plant management: potato and vegetable crop horticulture

Photo: Harry Janes

Harry W. Janes
Emeritus

hjanes@rutgers.edu

Sustainable Agricultural Systems
Plant management: controlled environmental agriculture; plant environmental interaction

Photo: Gojko Jelenkovic

Gojko Jelenkovic
Emeritus

Molecular biology/biotechnology: transgenic plants; gene isolation; gene characterization

Photo: Brad Majek

Brad Majek
Emeritus

Plant Plant Protection and Biotic and Abiotic Interactions section
Plant management: vegetable and fruit weed control

Photo: William Meyer

William Meyer
Emeritus

Plant breeding and genetic improvement: turfgrass breeding

Photo: David R. Mears

David R. Mears
Emeritus

Plant management: controlled environmental agriculture; greenhouse systems

Photo: Elwin R. Orton

Elwin R. Orton
Emeritus

Woody ornamentals plant breeding, primarily those of Ilex (hollies) and Cornus (dogwoods)

Photo: Thomas Orton

Thomas Orton
Emeritus

Plant breeding and genetic improvement: vegetable crops; extension in value-added systems development

Photo: John Sacalis

John Sacalis
Emeritus

Plant diversity/natural products: cut-flower postharvest physiology; turfgrass endophytes; natural products

Photo: Barbara Zilinskas

Barbara Zilinskas
Emeritus

barbara.zilinskas@rutgers.edu
848-932-6224

Plant Protection and Biotic and Abiotic Interactions
Molecular biology/biotechnology: molecular biology and physiology of the response of plants to environmental stress; oxidative stress and antioxidant protective mechanisms; genetic modification of turfgrass species